When it comes to a topic like death, I prefer not to think about it seriously until it becomes  reality. I have been lucky enough to think, “I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.” However, I would be lying if I said I hadn’t thought about my own death before. The only difference now is that I must form my thoughts into words without scaring anyone away. Therefore, I chose a less serious scenario.

I am constantly trying new skincare & cosmetic products and a thought popped into my head. What if I was unknowingly allergic to an ingredient in a new product? I’ve never even thought about this before, I just grab a sample and put it directly on my face. I would risk burning, scarring, and swelling each time I put a product on my skin. I realize it is unlikely to actually die from an allergic reaction on the skin, but I got creative.

20170205_2236361

I imagined myself trying out a new face mask and waiting for it to dry. I would feel a slight tingling sensation as I applied it, but figured that meant it was working. After 5 minutes, I would feel a bit of a burn but I thought I could tough it out; the instructions said it would take 20 minutes to dry. I would not make it through the next 15 minutes however, as the skin on my face began to swell, burn and crack, exposing my flesh underneath. The substances in the mask would make their way into my body and bloodstream, killing me in 10.

I really liked this project because it made me think and get creative on how to achieve 2 different shots in a small bathroom. I also wanted to give a visual on the swelling, so I used pieces of cotton balls and covered them in the mask then applied it to my face. Since I usually use this mask once a week anyway, I decided to wait until then to get my shot. Two birds with one stone, and all that. Because of this, the only person who could help me take the pictures was my little brother, who judged me so much that I couldn’t stand to take more than a few pictures. The best part was after it was done, when I could get up and go back to the safety of my room to ponder my uncontrollable death.

